Getting to Prague

Prague, the capital of the Czech Republic, is located in the geographical centre of Europe making it an important transport hub.

Getting to Prague by train

There are two international train stations in Prague. The largest is Main Station (Wilsonovo nádraží), located in the city centre, a few minutes walk from Wenceslas Square (Václavské nádraží). The second, Nádraží Holešovice is situated in Prague 7, which is 5km north of Wenceslas Square. Both stations are on the metro C (red) line and there are also bus connections between the two stations.

TrainBoth feature restaurants, fast-food outlets, snack bars, and shops. There is a selection of accommodation to suit all budgets, within close proximity of both stations.

International trains offer connections to Slovakia, Poland, Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Hungary, Belarus, Croatia*, Russia, Monte Negro, and Ukraine. Ticket prices may vary depending on whether they are purchased in the Czech Republic or elsewhere.

*Train to Croatia operates during the summer months only

Railway carriers in the Czech Republic:

České dráhy is the national railway carrier and provides connections between Prague and other European cities. Two private carriers, RegioJet and LeoExpress offer connections to Slovakia.

Direct international connections from/to Prague provided by České dráhy (ČD):

Austria

City Trains daily Duration Train Fare
Vienna 7 3h 59min Railjet 1100CZK approx

Germany

City Trains daily Duration Train Fare
Dresden 8 2h 15min EC, EN  700CZK approx
Berlin 8 4h 30min EC, EN from 800CZK
Hamburg 4 6h 45min EC from 1000CZK
Munich 6 6h (approx.) Ex, Ec from 660CZK

Hungary

City Trains daily Duration Train Fare
Budapest 6 6h 46min EC, EN 800CZK approx

Poland

City Trains daily Duration Train Fare
Warsaw 2 8h 30min EC 1100CZK approx

Slovakia

City Trains daily Duration Train Fare
Bratislava 8  4h EC, EN approx. 500CZK

Direct international connections to Prague:

Switzerland (Zürich) – Dep. Zürich 7:42pm, arr. Prague 9:28am.

Ukraine (Kiev) Dep. Kiev 11:15pm, arr. Prague three days later 7:39am.

Belarus (Minsk) – Dep. Minsk Wed and Fri 4:25, arr. Prague the next day 8:28am.

Russia (Moscow) – Dep. Moscow Wed and Fri 7:46am, arr. Prague the next day 8:28am.

Monte Negro (Bar) – Dep. Bar Thurs and Sun 9:00am arr. Prague the next day 2:10pm.

Croatia (Split)* – Dep. Split Wed and Sat 7:12pm, arr. Prague the next day 6:08pm.

*Operates from 18 June to 27 August only

Getting to Prague by air

PlanePrague’s international airport, Václav Havel Airport Prague (formerly Prague-Ruzyně Airport), is located on the outskirts of the city in the Ruzyně district.

AIRLINES:

The three largest carriers serving Václav Havel Airport Prague are:

  • Czech Airlines (ČSA) – flights to European destinations, Saudi Arabia, Russia, and South Korea.
  • Smartwings – operates flights to France, Italy, Turkey, Spain, Croatia, Greece, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Portugal, Israel, Albania, Monte Negro, and Russia.
  • EasyJet – flights to The Netherlands, Switzerland, Italy, France, and the United Kingdom

Other carriers: Croatia Airlines, Russian Airlines, Korean Air, Bulgaria Air, Air France, Air Serbia, British Air, FinnAir, Air Canada, Austrian Airlines.

Low-cost carriers: Smartwings, EasyJet.

All airlines serving Václav Havel Airport Prague:

Aeroflot – www.aeroflot.com

Aerlingus – www.aerlingus.com

Air Baltic –www.airbaltic.com

Air Berlin – www.airberlin.com

Air Cairo – www.aircairo.cz

Air China – www.air-china.co.uk

Air Canada – www.aircanada.ca

Air Company Yakutia – /www.yakutia.aero

Air France – www.airfrance.com

Air Malta – www.airmalta.com

Air Serbia –www.airserbia.com

Air Transat –www.airtransat.com

Al Italia – www.alitalia.com

Austrian Airlines – www.aua.com

Azerbaijan Airlines – www.azal.az

British Airways – www.britishairways.com

Belavia – www.belavia.by

Brussels Airlines – www.brussels-airlines.com

Bulgaria Air – www.air.bg

Crotia Airlines – www.croatiaairlines.com

Czech Airlines – České aerolinie (ČSA) – www.csa.cz

Delta Airlines – www.delta.com

Easy Jet – www.easyjet.com

Emirates – www.emirates.com

Eurowings – www.eurowings.com

FinnAir – www.finnair.com

FlyDubai – www.flydubai.com

Germanwings – www.eurowings.com

Hainan Airlines – www.hainanairlines.com

HOP! – http://www.hop.com/

China Eastern Airlines – en.ceair.com

Iberia – www.iberia.com

Jet Airways – www.jetairways.com

KLM – www.klm.com

Korean Air – www.koreanair.com

LOT – Polish Airlines – www.lot.com

LuftHansa – www.lufthansa.com

Luxair – www.luxair.lu

Norwegian – www.norwegian.com

Olympic Airlines – www.olympicairlines.com

Pegasus Airlines – www.flypgs.com

Russian Airlines –www.rossiya-airlines.com

RyanAir – www.ryanair.cz

SAS – www.flysas.com

SmartWings – www.smartwings.com

Sprintair – http://sprintair.eu/

SwissAir – www.swiss.com

S7 Airlines – www.s7.ru

TAP Portugal – www.tap.pt

TaROM – tarom.digiro.net

Transavia – www.transavia.com

Tunisair – www.tunisair.com

Turkish Airlines – www.thy.com

Ukraine International Airlines – www.flyuia.com

Ural Airlines – www.uralairlines.com

Volotea – www.volotea.com

Vueling – www.vueling.com

WizzAir – www.wizzair.com